Thanks to WGLT Poetry Radio program editors Kirstin Hotelling Zona and Bill Morgan and program producer Bruce Bergethon for their support of the contest.


Euphemism/Poetry Radio Poetry Contest

It is our pleasure to announce the winners of the first annual Poetry Radio/Euphemism contest (Spring 2009) ! Please click on the poems titles to read the work and see blurbs from contest judge C.S. Giscombe. Click on Poetry Radio to hear them read their work and learn more about Poetry Radio.


1st Prize -- Josh Fisher for The Me Ran Away From I

2nd Prize-- Jeff Hyde for Words Waiting for a Place

2st Prize -- Kevin McKenzie for 12:15 and Anonymity Perishes


Since 1992, WGLT has collaborated with Illinois State University's English Department to produce Poetry Radio. Each program, between two and five minutes in length, spotlights a single poem, contemporary or classic, framed by a responsive piece of music. To access the Poetry Radio Podcast page go to


Euphemism Campus Box 5555 Illinois State University Normal, IL 61790