The Neuleib-Scharton Award for Excellence in Rhetoric and Writing Studies

The Neuleib-Scharton Award is presented to the graduate student and undergraduate student who have written the best papers in rhetoric, composition, and writing studies in history, theory, or criticism. It honors Professors Jan Neuleib and Maurice Scharton, whose work together within and beyond the Department serves as a reminder that rhetoric and writing practices are inherently collaborative and thus essential to building and sustaining community.

Jan is Professor Emeritus of English, retiring from ISU in 2020 after a 40+ year career in the Department. She was the founding director of the University's first Writing Center and directed the Writing and English Education programs. She also founded the Illinois State Writing Project, which she directed for eighteen years. Maurice taught in the English department from 1977 through 2002 and was a popular teacher of rhetoric, writing, grammar, as well as a teacher of teachers through grants and workshops.

Together Jan and Maurice published *Inside Out: A Guide to Writing, Things Your Grammar Never Told You: A Pocket Handbook,* as well as numerous journal articles. They also edited the oldest English journal in the United States, the *Illinois English Bulletin,* and, through the Illinois State Writing Project, worked with teachers from across the state to help them improve their own writing and their teaching of writing.

To be eligible, students must:

- be Junior or Senior English majors (for the undergraduate award), or graduate students in English (for the graduate award);
- submit one piece of scholarship (no more than 25 pages), the content of which must be grounded within the scholarly tradition of rhetoric and composition studies; and
- attach a cover letter with their submission that describes the context within which the text was written as well as states the writer's purpose, target audience, and strategies undertaken during the revision process.